The Korean Electro-Acoustic Music Society's 2013 Annual Conference & its Computer Music Journal, Emille, present:




Call for Proposals



The Korean Electro-Acoustic Music Society (KEAMS) is pleased to announce a call for proposals for the 2013 KEAMS annual Conference and its journal Emille. KEAMS was formed to promote active research and discussion on electro-acoustic and computer music, and will hold the next year's conference during the Seoul International Computer Music Festival (SICMF 2013: from October 29th to November 2nd, 2013. Selected papers from the conference will be published in Emille Vol. 11 (December, 2013). If you want your paper or workshop idea to be considered for the 2013 KEAMS Conference, please send an abstract or proposal (maximum of 2,000-characters including spaces) and curriculum vitae as PDF documents to <emille[at]>.


Category of Topics

For the KEAMS conference, the following topics are encouraged, but are not limited to:


Creative Encounters between Music and Science


Multidisciplinary or Interdisciplinary Research (co-authors acceptable)


Systematic Musicology (Computational Musicology, Computational Music Theory)


Analysis of Electronic and Computer-based Music


Sound Synthesis


Music Psychology




Development of electronically-extended Musical Instruments


Music Software Engineering


Artificial Musical Intelligence


Computer-aided Composition/Analysis


Automatic Composition





Conference Language



Important Dates

- Deadline for Proposal Submission:

January 31, 2013

- Notification of Acceptance of the Proposal:

March 1, 2013

- Deadline for Paper Submission before Conference:

August 31, 2013

- Conference:

November 1-2, 2013

- Notification of Selected Paper for the Journal Emille:   

November 5, 2013

- Deadline for Final Paper Submission:

November 30, 2013



Each session will consist of up to four presentations. Each paper will be presented in person for about 25 minutes followed by ca. 5 minutes of discussion. If you want to give a keynote presentation, you will be given about 50 minutes to present, followed by ca. 10 minutes of discussion. Please include the word keynote in your submission if you are planning on applying for a keynote presentation. The length of each workshop will be about 90 minutes. Video conferencing over the Internet is also available.


As demonstrated by the following examples, participants may submit more than two proposals, making a whole presentation session or an additional workshop session:


Example 1:          Presentation Session Plan *


Sample topic: Spatialization

(4 x 30 min. = 25 min. presentation + 5 min. Q&A)

Presentation 1

Spatialization methods using less than 8 channels

Presentation 2

An overview of the design of a Loudspeaker Orchestra

Presentation 3

Applications of Ambisonics and Spherical Acoustics

Presentation 4

A proposal of multi-3D audio reproduction system for the multi-functional concert hall

* You may submit several proposals without a session plan.


Example 2:          Workshop Session Plan **


Sample topic: Using controllers for composition and acoustic installations

(3 X 90 min.)

Workshop 1

Controllers using various sensors and Arduino

Workshop 2

Use of Smartphones and Tablet PCs as controllers

Workshop 3

Inter-application uses of Controllers

(Using Processing to Control Csound, MaxMSP, PD and SuperCollider)

** You may submit a single proposal for a workshop. You also may submit multiple proposals for individual workshops without a session plan.




Thanks to funding from the Korean Arts Council, the registration fee and publication fee will be waived.



It is also possible for students and non-experts in the fields mentioned above to submit proposals for the conference and the journal, Emille. All proposals will be screened by the program committee and selected solely based on the quality of the research and topic.


Your ideas are critical in making the conference and Emille enriching, important and substantial. We look forward to reviewing everyone's entry.




Emille, the Journal of the Korean Electro-Acoustic Music Society



Editorial Information


Committee Chair / Editor in Chief
Lymn, Young-Mee
Lecturer of Electro-Acoustic Music (EAM) & Music Theory (MTh) at Hanyang University etc.

Committee / Editor
Ko, PyoungRyang
Lecturer of MTh & EAM at Seoul National University, Sookmyung Women's University etc.

Committee / Editorial Board
Breitenfeld, Roland
Professor of Composition and Electronic Music at Seoul National University
Chang, Jaeho
Professor of Music Technology at Korea National University of Arts
Cho, Jinok
Lecturer of MTh at Seoul National University, Chung-Ang University etc.
Cho, Youngmi
Lecturer of EAM & MTh at Pyeongtaek University etc.
Dudas, Richard
Professor of Composition and Computer Music at Hanyang University
Eckert, Gerald
Professor of Composition at Chung-Ang University
Kang, Joong Hoon
Lecturer of Composition and Computer Music at Yonsei University etc.
Kim, Han Shin
Lecturer of EAM at Sookmyung Women's University etc.
Kim, Jin-Ho
Professor of Composition, Computer Music and Musicology at Andong National University
Lee, Byung-moo
Lecturer of Composition, MTh & EAM Music at Chugye University for the Arts etc.
Lee, Kyogu
Professor of Music Information Retrieval, Music DSP at Seoul National University
Moon, Seong-Joon
Professor of Composition at Chugye University for the Arts
Nam, Unjung
Professor of Computer Music at Baekseok Arts University
Parks, Kevin
Professor of Composition and Computer Music at the Catholic University of Daegu
Shin, Seonga
Professor of Composition at Keimyung University
Sigman, Alexander
Professor of Composition at Keimyung University
Yeo, Woon Seung
Professor of Audio visual art, New Musical Interface, Mobile Orchestra and Music DSP at Korea Advanced Institute of Science and Technology (KAIST)
Yim, Jongwoo
Professor of Composition at Hanyang University

Committee / Editorial Advisory Board
Ahn, Doo-jin
Professor of Composition at Hanseo University
HWANG, Sung Ho
Professor of Composition at Korea National University of Arts
Lee, Donoung
Professor of Composition at Seoul National University
Cho, Wonhyong
Researcher at the National Institute of the Korean Language


supported by